Tour de France Quick Info


The Tour de France is a prestigious multistage bike race that takes place yearly in France and typically the encircling international locations.

The race, also referred to as Le Tour or La Grande Boucle, consists of 21 phases and lined 3,483 kilometers in 2020.

There have been 4 cyclists who’ve received the Tour 5 instances:
Jacques Anquetil of France (1957 and 1961-1964)
Eddy Merckx of Belgium (1969-1972 and 1974)
Bernard Hinault of France (1978-1979, 1981-1982, and 1985)
Miguel Indurain of Spain (1991-1995), the primary competitor to win 5 consecutive races.

Lance Armstrong held the file for many Tour de France wins (seven), however he was stripped of these wins in 2012.

France has received extra instances than some other nation (36).

Three People have received: Greg LeMond (1986, 1989, 1990), Armstrong (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005) and Floyd Landis (2006). Each Armstrong and Landis have had their titles stripped resulting from allegations of doping.

The winner of the race is the individual with the general shortest gathered time.

Ten, six and 4 second bonuses are awarded to the highest three riders on the finish of highway phases, excluding the person and crew time trials.

There are two relaxation days.


YELLOW — “maillot jaune” — General chief of the race. The yellow jersey was launched into the race in 1919, almost definitely as a result of the race’s sponsor was a French newspaper (previously L’Auto, now L’Equipe) that printed on distinctive yellow paper.
POLKA DOT — “maillot à pois rouge” — Worn by the bicycle owner with the very best gathered time within the mountain segments.

GREEN — “maillot vert” — Worn by the factors classification chief. Factors are awarded for intermediate and ultimate sprints on flat terrain.

WHITE — “maillot blanc” — Worn by the Tour’s greatest rider aged 25 and youthful.


1903 – Henri Desgrange, a reporter and bicycle owner, creates the Tour de France.

1903 – Maurice Garin of France is the primary bicycle owner to win the race.

1910 – First time the race goes by the Pyrenees.

1989 – Greg Lemond defeats Laurent Fignon by eight seconds, the smallest margin of victory within the race’s historical past.

1999-2005 – Armstrong wins seven instances in a row.

2003 – The 100th Anniversary of the race, however not the 100th race (the race was canceled 11 instances throughout WWI and WWII).

September 20, 2007 – Landis, winner of the 2006 Tour de France, is stripped of his title when an arbitration panel guidelines in favor of the US Anti-Doping Company (USADA). Landis, the primary Tour de France winner stripped of the title, initially maintained his innocence however later admitted to doping and accused others, together with Armstrong, of doing the identical.

October 22, 2012 – The Worldwide Biking Union proclaims that Armstrong is being stripped of his Tour de France titles and is being banned from skilled biking for all times.

October 26, 2012 – The Worldwide Biking Union proclaims that nobody might be declared the winner of the Tour de France from 1999-2005, after Armstrong is stripped of his titles.

October 10, 2018 – Britain’s Staff Sky experiences that the 2018 trophy received by Thomas has been stolen from a show in Birmingham, England, the place the crew had been displaying all three trophies received by its riders.
April 15, 2020 – It’s introduced that the Tour de France is being postponed till August due the coronavirus outbreak. It was initially scheduled to happen June 27-July 19, 2020.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here